Who we areWho we are

The Churches in Dialogue Commission (CiD) is one of the three commissions of the Conference of European Churches (CEC). CiD is referred to in the constitution of CEC as "making common contribution to the mission of the Church, the safeguarding of life, to renew common life and witness", and has special responsibility for promoting koinonia (fellowship) within the CEC family. The CiD initiates and supports a variety of bilateral and multilateral encounters and dialogues, with a special emphasis given to theological reflection on the various challenges. The Commission carries out its work at annual plenary meetings, and in between through consultations and working groups, as well as through communication with various research institutes and other ecumenical organisations. The framework of the CiD is the Charta Œcumenica, used as a basis in all areas of study and dialogue.

Our mandate

The Churches in Dialogue Commission was given its mandate with the following priorities of work: 

  1. Promoting dialogue and encounter between the Orthodox Churches and other member churches of CEC
  2. Towards a Common Mission in Europe
  3. Majortiy and Minority church relationship in Europe
  4. Strengthening co-operation between theological Faulties from all over Europe
  5. Sharing spirituality and worship life, between churches and at ecumenical meetings
  6. Improving Ecumenical Training & Formation in Europe
  7. Continuing the consultation process towards a common Theology of Religions
  8. Promoting the Healing of Memories process in Europe
  9. Reflecting upon new ecumenical spaces for a more inclusive co-operation between the churches Members of the CiD Commission
Members of the Commission 2009 - 2013

Rev. Myra Blyth, Baptist Union of Great Britain

Rev. Mihail Cekov, United Methodist Church

Canon Elizabeth Fisher, Church of England

H.E. Metropolitan Gennadios of Sassima, Ecumenical Patriarchate

Pfr. Dr Andreas Hunziker, Federation of Swiss Protestant Churches (SEK-FEPS)

Prof. Anestis Keselopoulos, Church of Greece

Lic. Theol. Pekka Metso, Orthodox Church of Finland

Ms Marie Vejrup Nielsen, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Denmark

Prof. Dr Friederike Nüssel, Evangelical Church in Germany (EKD)

Ms Aikaterini Pekridou, World Student Christian Federation (WSCF-E)

Very Rev. Mkrtich Proshyan, Armenian Apostolic Church

Rt. Rev. Dr Matti Repo, Bishop of Tampere, Evangelical Lutheran Church of Finland

Rev. Dr Sorin Selaru, Romanian Orthodox Church

Ms Faye Skyvalaki, Ecumenical Youth Council in Europe (EYCE)

Bishop Prof. Dr. István Szabó, Reformed Church in Hungary